2019 KTM AJMX Wrap Up

7 days ago | Words: Motorcycling Australia | Photos: Aaryn Minerds

The Championship decider day of the KTM Australian Junior Motocross Championship (AJMX), held at the Motocross Riders Association in South Australia, saw plenty of thrills, battles and celebrations as 12 national titles were decided in what was an incredible day of racing. The Motocross Riders Association club in Gillman has been blessed with exceptional weather conditions all week and the track has produced top-notch racing. It’s been a proud week for the sport, as the country’s elite junior motocross athletes were crowned.

128cc-150cc two-stroke/200cc-250cc four-stroke: 13-U15

The first 2019 AJMX Champion of the day was crowned as Queenslander, Brad West took the chequered flag and sealed the title in the first race of the day.

With what was once again the Banana Bender Show, West charged to victory beating rival and fellow Queenslanders, Deegan Mancinelle on second and Jackson Camilleri rounding off the top three for the last final of this class.

Championship Points:

  1. Brad West: 185
  2. Jackson Camilleri: 169
  3. Ryan Alexansderson: 166

65cc: 7-U10

The third and final race for the 65cc 7-U10 class was won by Queensland’s “Mr Consistency” Cooper Downing with an impressionable fast lap time of 2:14.508. Fellow Queenslander, Peter Wolfe, came second and Tassie rider, Cooper Ford, crossed the line with a strong third to seal the championship win.

Championship Points:

  1. Cooper Ford: 97
  2. Cooper Downing: 91
  3. Lachlan Allen 82

100cc-150cc two-stroke/200cc-250cc four-stroke: 13-U16 Girls

Queenslander, Charli Cannon, has dominated this class and the final moto to take the Junior Lites – 13-U16 Girls Championship in fine style. The massive 210 points Cannon clocked up was more than enough to seal the deal, but she went the extra mile and won the final race by over five seconds. Cannon was followed by Victorian, Madison Healey, for second and Taylah McCutcheson rounded up the top three for their final race.

Championship Points:

  1. Charli Cannon: 210
  2. Taylor Thompson 184
  3. Madison Healey 180

85cc two-stroke/150cc four-stroke: 9-U12

The third final and probably the most hotly contested class of the KTM AJMX saw New South Welshman, Hixson McInnes, proved to be the surprise package in the third final of the 85cc two-stroke/150cc four-stroke 9-U12 class. Not only did Hixon have the fastest lap time of 1:56.285, but he also took the win over Queenslander, Jet Alsop, in second and West Australian, Kayden Minear, who took third place for the final and the overall win of the championship.

Championship Points:

  1. Kayden Minear: 95
  2. Liam Owens: 95
  3. Jet Alsop: 88

85cc two-stroke– 150cc four-stroke: 12-U16 Girls

Charli Cannon from Queensland made it a clean sweep once again in the Mini Lites BW 12-U16 Girls final to grasp the title, completing the week with a dominant 18-second victory. Taylor Thomson from New South Wales pulled through for another consistent runner-up placing ahead of Queenslander Taylah McCutcheon.

Championship Points:

  1. Charli Cannon: 210
  2. Taylor Thomson: 186
  3. Taylah McCrutcheon: 186

100cc-125cc – two-stroke: 15yo

New South Welshman, Blake Fox, has sealed the 125cc – 15yo championship, despite coming third in the final moto and winning one final. It was Queenslander Levi Rogers who took victory in the sixth final, followed by local champion, Alex Larwood, who had the fastest lap time of 1:45.589 and Blake Fox (NSW) followed him 8 seconds later to take third.

Championship Points:

  1. Blake Fox: 191
  2. Levi Rogers: 187
  3. Alex Larwood: 177

85cc two-stroke/150cc four-stroke: 12-U14

The championship battle for the Mini Lites BW – 12-U14 could not have been any closer, with the only 3 points between the top three! Ryder Kingsford was awarded the championship on countback, after finishing fourth in the final race. It was New South Welshman Byron Dennis that stormed home to take the chequered flag in the final race for this class, with a fastest lap time of 1:53.500, Queenslander Branden Plath crossed the line under two seconds later to take second and Cody Kilpatrick from New South Wales rounded up the top three.

Championship Points:

  1. Ryder Kingsford: 90
  2. Connor Towill: 90
  3. Byron Dennis: 87

85cc two-stroke/150cc four-stroke: 14-U16

New South Welshman, Benny Novak has once again sealed the Mini Lites BW – 14-U16 championship with his first-place finish in the final moto securing 201 points overall to retain the title for 2019. Fellow state counterpart, Hunter Collins, secured runner up in the championship by coming second in the final moto with the fastest lap time of 1:51.684 and Queenslander, Jake Kowal, crossed the line in third.

Championship Points:

  1. Ben Novak: 201
  2. Hunter Collins: 199
  3. Zachary Watson 176

65cc: 10-U12

West Australian, Kayden Minear, made it two championship wins at Gillman with victory in the 65cc – 10-U12 category. His first place and fastest lap time of 2:02.221 in the final moto was enough to guarantee the title. New South Welshman, Jack Deveson, crossed the line closely behind for second and fellow state counterpart, Ky Woods, rounded up the top three in their final race of the day, placing him second on the championship podium.

Championship Points:

  1. Kayden Minear: 202
  2. Ky Woods: 189
  3. Jake Cannon: 168

100cc-125cc two-stroke: 13-U15

West Australian, Liam Atkinson, sealed the title with a solid second-place finish in the final moto. Queenslander, Ryan Alexanderson, took a three-second margin win over Atkinson and New South Welshman, Hunter Collins, came in third with the fastest lap time of 1:51.977 in their last race of the championship.

Championship Points:

  1. Liam Atkinson: 92
  2. Brock Flynn: 84
  3. Jack Mather: 83

128cc-150cc two-stroke/200cc-250cc four-stroke: 15

Taking his second podium of the day, local hero Alex Larwood took the championship in style with the final chequered flag and the fastest lap time of 1:46.880 in the last moto of both the day and the 2019 KTM AJMX Championships.

New South Welshman, Blake Fox, pulled through for second in the race making him runner up for the championship ahead of fellow state counterpart, Cameron Torpy, rounding off the top three for the final race of the 2019 KTM Australian Junior Motocross Championships!

Championship Points:

  1. Alex Larwood: 210
  2. Blake Fox: 190
  3. Cameron Torpy: 157

Be the first to comment...

You might also like...


18 hours ago

How-To: Prevent Damage to your Wiring Harness

Don’t let a 30-second fix be the difference between a perfect wiring harness and busted one.


2 days ago

Brad Freeman: EnduroGP World Champ

Brad Freeman sits on top of the world for the 4th time. So, what has changed and what does the future hold?


3 days ago

2020 Beta Models: The Upgrades

All eight models in Beta’s new-generation 2020 RR range get all-new engines, chassis and bodywork.


3 days ago

Serco Yamaha on Top at ASX Round 1

The Serco Yamaha team charged to a 1-2 finish at the opening round of the SX2 championship.


3 days ago

Round 1 2019 ASX Recap – Queensland

Justin Brayton’s Australian Supercross title defence kick starts with a win​ at Round 1 in Queensland.


3 days ago

Recap: Australian Dirt Track Champs

Another season of full-noise dirt track racing has come to a close. So, who came out on top?


6 days ago

Price Wins Stage 5 of the Rally du Maroc

The two-time and reigning Dakar Rally Champ, Toby Price, has won the fifth and final stage of the Rally du Maroc.


6 days ago

Andrew Short Wins the Rally du Maroc

American Andrew Short has claimed his first 2019 FIM Cross-Country Rally and second place in the championship.