Justin Brayton’s Flawless Season

1 year ago | Words: Grant O'Brien | Photos: Johnny Bonnar, AUS-X Open

At the halfway stage of the Australian Supercross Championship Penrite Honda Racing team rider, Justin Brayton sits at the top of the SX1 class with a perfect score after dominating the first three rounds of the series. The defending champion has been unstoppable so far but this could all change at this weekend’s Aus-X Open at the Qudos Bank Arena in Sydney where we see the inclusion of Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing team mates Jason Anderson and Dean Wilson, plus Geico Honda’s RJ Hampshire all set to mix things up at the pointy end of the field.

Brayton currently holds a 13-point lead over CDR Yamaha’s Dean Ferris and heads into the Aus-X Open as favourite alongside Anderson, but as we’ve seen before in the smaller, tighter venues like Qudos Bank Arena, anything can happen on the night and a solid start is going to be key to finish on top. Brayton will adopt the same approach that he always does and will look to bring himself closer to a championship title this weekend with more victories.
Looking to make an upset at the Aus-X Open this weekend against the strong field of international riders will be Aussie new breeds – CDR Yamaha’s Dylan Long, MEGA Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team’s Nathan Crawford, and Penrite Honda Racing’s Luke Clout. All three riders have turned heads during this year’s supercross series and will be looking to make an even bigger impact racing against the star-studded field.

SX1 Championship Points
1. Justin Brayton – 75 Points
2. Dean Ferris – 62 Points
3. Dylan Long – 54 Points
4. Daniel Reardon – 52 Points
5. Todd Waters – 50 Points
6. Kade Mosig – 43 Points
7. Nathan Crawford – 43 Points
8. Luke Clout – 40 Points
9. Nick Schmidt – 33 Points
10. Daniel Herrlein – 32 Points


Penrite Honda’s Gavin Faith had enjoyed a great season winning the first two rounds of the season. However, a fractured wrist sustained in round two has not improved and has worsened considerably, now leaving the American rider out of contention for the rest of the season. DPH Motorsport’s Hayden Mellross has also been sidelined with an injury.

This now puts DPH Motorsport’s Wilson Todd in prime position to have a crack at the title after taking a win at South Australia to now reside second in the standings. Last year’s SX2 champion Jackson Richardson, and Dyson Motorsports’s Dylan Wills are not far behind and will look to eye off first in the standings after this weekend’s Aus-X Open.

With three rounds now remaining on the calendar, the SX2 Category is truly up for grabs with up to six riders being within a shot for the championship.

SX2 Championship Points
1. Gavin Faith – 63 Points
2. Wilson Todd – 61 Points
3. Jackson Richardson – 59 Points
4. Dylan Wills – 52 Points
5. Jay Wilson – 47 Points
6. Mitchell Evans – 38 Points
7. Connor Tierney – 35 Points
8. Geran Stapleton – 33 Points
9. Taylor Potter – 30 Points
10. Aaron Tanti – 29 Points

Be the first to comment...

You might also like...


4 days ago

Score 50% Off Transmoto Apparel

Christmas shopping for your loved ones will be sorted with kids & women’s apparel available.


5 days ago

Feature Film: Ride All In Trailer

A champion isn’t born overnight. This film is about the drive to be focused, stronger, fitter and faster.


5 days ago

2019 Thor MX: Sector Gear Set

If you’re looking for quality riding gear without an expensive price tag, check out Thor’s Sector range.


5 days ago

Toby Price Set For 2019 Dakar

2016 Dakar Rally Champion, Toby Price, is ready to take on the updated 2019 course… 10-days in Peru.


1 week ago

2019 Yamaha WR450F: Observations

Ten pre-launch insights into Yamaha’s all-new flagship model, the 2019 WR450F.


2 weeks ago

Is this the Coolest Kid on a Moto?

Ten-year-old Kelana Humphrey has to be one of the most stylish and talented kids to ever ride a motorcycle.

2 weeks ago

Tested: 2019 Husqvarna TC125 & TC250

How the 2019 machines have changed – in terms of both their componentry, performance, and overall character.

Choice Suspension

2 weeks ago

The ISDE Champ’s Suspension Choice

Meet the Aussie suspension tuner behind the 2018 ISDE’s Outright winner, Daniel Milner.