🎥 AMA SX Highlights: Anaheim 1

9 months ago | Words: Field Entertainment | Photos: Field Entertainment, KTM/Simon Cudby

Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin has won the opening round of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross, at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California on January 6.
Musquin fought his way to the front of the pack after a fifth place start in the 450SX Main Event. One by one, Musquin picked off each of his competitors to lead 14 of the 24 laps.
“To win tonight definitely was not expected,” Musquin said. “It was a difficult day, but I tried to stay calm, and I guess we made it happen.”
Musquin, the million-dollar winner of the 2017 Monster Energy Cup, was joined by Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson and Monster Energy/Knich/Yamaha Factory Racing’s Justin Barcia on the podium, the first for Barcia since 2014. Anderson, who started sixth, charged through the pack to claim second ahead of Barcia.

For Team Honda HRC’s Ken Roczen, last year’s Anaheim 450SX Class winner who has not raced since Anaheim 2 in 2017, came out swinging after a 12th place start and climbed to fourth by the checkers.
Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac, the winner of nine Main Events in 2017, found the holeshot and lead for seven laps until a mishap eventually forced him out of the competition.



In the Western Regional 250SX Class, Troy Lee Designs Red Bull KTM’s Shane McElrath earned his second consecutive Anaheim 1 win after qualifying first, taking the holeshot and leading all 18 laps of the Main Event.
Yamalube Star Racing Yamaha’s Aaron Plessinger also captured his second consecutive second place finish at Anaheim 1 after a fourth place start. Third place went to second-fastest qualifier Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo in his first career Anaheim start.

450SX Class Results

1. Marvin Musquin, Clermont, Fla. (26)
2. Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M. (23)
3. Justin Barcia, Greenville, Fla. (21)
4. Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla. (19)
5. Weston Peick, Menifee, Calif. (18)
6. Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif. (17)
7. Justin Brayton, Mint Hill, N.C. (16)
8. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich. (15)
9. Joshua Grant, Wildomar, Calif. (14)
10. Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C. (13)

250SX Class Results

1. Shane McElrath, Canton, N.C. (26)
2. Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio (23)
3. Adam Cianciarulo, New Smyrna, Fla. (21)
4. Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga. (19)
5. Christian Craig, Orange, Calif. (18)
6. Mitchell Oldenburg, Alvord, Texas (17)
7. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore. (16)
8. Chase Sexton, Clermont, Fla. (15)
9. Justin Cooper, Huntington, N.Y. (14)
10. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla. (13)

Be the first to comment...

You might also like...

Events Stroud

5 hours ago

2018 Transmoto 8-Hour: Image Gallery

Rain, mud, slop and bloody good times. This is what went down at the 2018 Transmoto 8-Hour at Stroud.


1 day ago

Lake Eyre To Mt Kosciuszko On 2 Wheels

Two blokes on two wheels, set to tackle the lowest to highest point in Oz to raise money for cancer research.

1 day ago

LE Alpinestars Battle Born Gear Set

Introducing Alpinestars’ 2019 Limited Edition Battle Born colourway. Inspired by MX’s golden era of the 1970s.

Events Stroud

1 day ago

2018 Transmoto 8-Hour: Results

Did you race the 2018 Transmoto 8-Hour at Stroud? Check out how you and your team stacked up.

1 day ago

How-To: Tight Terrain Techniques

Reigning A4DE and AORC champ, KTM’s Daniel Milner, shows you the quickest line through the trees.


2 days ago

Eli Tomac Wins Monster Energy Cup

Eli Tomac has won $1 Million and become the first two-time Monster Energy Cup Champion.


2 days ago

Australian Supercross: Round 3 Recap

Justin Brayton and Wilson Todd claim victories at Rd 3 of the Australian Supercross Championship in Geelong.

3 days ago

How-To: Maintain Your Four-Stroke

We teach you everything you need to know about preventative maintenance for your four-stroke engine.