2017 Finke Desert Race: Preview

2 months ago | Words: Andy Wigan | Photos: Adam Riemann, Andy Wigan

With neither the Outright winner nor runner-up from last year’s Finke Desert Race (KTM’s Toby Price and Tye Simmonds) lining up for the 2017 race, it sure raises a lot of questions about this weekend’s great race…
Can KTM still win its fourth Finke on the trot, and eighth in the past nine years? Can Daymon Stokie or David Walsh become the first Alice Spring local to win the coveted “King of the Desert” crown since Ryan Branford way back in 2006? Can former Finke podium placegetter, Josh Green, step up and hand Yamaha their first Outright Finke victory since Stephen Gall way, way back in 1986? And can Toby Price – ‘only’ racing this year’s Finke on four wheels due to ongoing knee ligament damage – take his #487 Geiser Trophy Truck Chev 6000cc machine to his first Auto-class win?
Well, let’s throw it over to the organisers of the 2017 Tatts Finke Desert Race for their preview on who keep an eye on this weekend in the Northern Territory…

This year’s Tatts Finke Desert Race to be held from 9-12 June will be the 42nd occasion Australia’s greatest desert race has been held. Significantly, it is also the 30th time that cars have competed in the event that has its origins as a bike-only affair known as the “There and Back” race dating way back to 1976.
While 2016 Dakar winner and five time Tatts Finke Desert bike race winner Toby Price won’t be tackling the gruelling event on his KTM this year as a result of not having fully recovered from injuries sustained in this year’s Dakar, he has entered in the Extreme 2WD class in the #487 Geiser Trophy Truck Chev 6000cc machine. The four-wheel ability of Price is unquestioned having run second last year in his maiden car attempt on the gruelling 452 kilometre journey from Alice Springs to Finke and back.
Last year’s car winner combination Glenn Owen and Mathew Ryan (Jimco Buggy) return to defend their title along with a star-studded field including previous Finke winners Hayden Bentley, Greg Gartner, Brad Gallard, Shannon Rentsch and David Fellows.


Saturday, June 10:

  • Prologue cars commence at 8.00am.
  • Bikes commence at 12.30pm. 

Sunday, June 11:

  • Cars depart Alice Springs at 7.15am.
  • Bikes depart Alice Springs at 11.30am. 

Monday, June 12:

  • Cars depart Finke at 7.15am.
  • Bikes depart Finke at 11.45am.

Related Content

Be the first to comment...

You might also like...


1 day ago

🎥 Transmoto 6-Hour: Highlights Video

The offical highlights from the Transmoto 6-Hour @ Conondale, powered by KTM.


1 day ago

Australia Counts Down to ISDE

The countdown is on as the Senior, Junior and Women’s World Trophy teams prepare to take to the French ISDE.


1 day ago

Conondale’s 6-Hour: The ‘Other’ Winners

Meet the special Team Category winners from last weekend’s 2017 Transmoto 6-Hour at Conondale.


1 day ago

X Games Real Moto: Jackson Strong

This is what “Real Moto” means to Jackson Strong – huge jumps, burning houses and heavy metal.


2 days ago

Transmoto 6-Hour: Photo Library

Did you race a the Transmoto 6-Hour @ Conondale? Chances are, we’ve captured an image of you.


2 days ago

AORC: Path to the E1, E2, E3 Titles

We reflect on the hard fought AORC championship fights that went down to the final round of the series.


3 days ago

#Transmoto6hour Image Gallery

Check out the best social media images from the Transmoto 6-Hour. Did you hashtag #transmoto6hour?


4 days ago

MX Nats @ Coolum: The MX2 Decider

How are you backing in the MX2 class head-to-head decider at the final round of the MX Nationals?