2017 Monster Energy AUS-X Open Recap

1 week ago | Words: AUS-X Open | Photos: Monster Energy AUS-X Open

The largest action sports competition in the southern hemisphere – the Monster Energy AUS-X Open – has concluded for 2017, with Husqvarna imports Dean Wilson and Jason Anderson taking out Saturday and Sunday nights SX1 Main Event wins at Sydney’s Qudos Bank Arena on November 12-13.
Here is a recap from the crew at AUS-X Open of the SX and FMX action that went down over the two epic nights of racing.

Saturday (Round 4)

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Dean Wilson has won Saturday’s feature race at the Monster Energy AUS-X Open Sydney at Qudos Bank Arena.

Wilson becomes the first European to win the prestigious event after battling it out early with local Aussie hero Dan Reardon and fellow AMA Supercross teammate Jason Anderson.

“It’s been a long time since I’ve won a race and to do it in front of you Aussie fans, it’s just amazing, we’re having such a good time over here and I really love this country!”
“All the support I’m getting, I’m really grateful to be here and It was cool to see old Dan Boy [Dan Reardon] leading a few laps for the Aussie crowd, and Jason was just ripping so that was good fun, I’m really happy.”
Reardon eventually finished third behind a hard-charging Anderson who pushed through the field after an early fall put him way back in the field. It was giant effort to pick his way back through the field and almost catch Wilson by race end.

“A couple more laps I think it would have been real interesting, Dean [Wilson] has a lot of fight in him so it would have been interesting,” Anderson said.
“But tomorrow I’m going get a better start and I’m gonna bring it and I think it’s going to be really fun and I’m really pumped, it was a good night.”

In the SX2 Championship, the winner’s spoils went to DPH Yamaha rider Wilson Todd with Chris Blose second and Jackson Richardson in third.
Earlier in the night, the Morris Finance Superpole winner was fast man Anderson while local favourite Nathan Crawford took out the Knobby Holeshot award.

In the FMX Best Trick competition Josh Sheehan stole the show with a jaw dropping Double Backflip, a Monster Energy AUS-X Open first, much to the delight of the sold out Qudos Bank Arena crowd.

The Boost Mobile Best Whip was another huge success with local FMX talent Corey Creed upstaging the world’s best to win the style competition.

Saturday’s second feature event saw the greatest of all time Ricky Carmichael and the self-proclaimed greatest of all time Ronnie Mac go bar-to-bar in a two-stroke showdown of epic proportions.

After plenty of pre-race banter, off-track antics and elbow banging racing, the inaugural Carmichael v Mac two-stroke showdown went to Carmichael.

SX1 TOP-10

1 – Dean Wilson
2 – Jason Anderson
3 – Dan Reardon
4 – Kade Mosig
5 – Dean Ferris
6 – Nathan Crawford (Holeshot winner)
7 – Dylan Long
8 – Just Brayton
9 – Jesse Dobson
10 – Todd Waters

SX2 TOP-10

1 – Wilson Todd (Holeshot)
2 – Chris Blose
3 – Jackson Richardson
4 – Jay Wilson
5 – Geran Stapleton
6 – Dylan Wills
7 – Bailey Malkiewicz
8 – Joe Roberts
9 – John Prutti

FMX Best Trick

1 – Josh Sheehan
2 – Harry Bink
3 – Pat Bowden

Sunday (Round 5)

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson has won Sunday’s feature race at the Monster Energy AUS-X Open at Qudos Bank Arena in Sydney.

Anderson rocketed out of the gates and never looked back as he lead the prestigious event from start to finish to be crowned the 2017 Monster Energy AUS-X Open Sydney Champion.
“I’m so stoked to take out the SX1 Final of tonight’s Monster Energy AUS-X Open in Sydney, it was so good to get the win,” Anderson said.
“After just missing out in last night’s SX1 Final to my teammate Wilson, I’m pumped I managed to come back tonight and cement the top step on that podium. This is what I came to Australia to do, and it’s great to do it at such a cool event.”

Anderson was untouched throughout the race with AMA Supercross teammate Dean Wilson coming home in second and Australian Supercross Championship leader Justin Brayton in third.
Sunday’s SX1 KNOBBY Holeshot went to local ace Dean Ferris after a ripper start out of the gates in tonight’s final. Meanwhile, the Morris Finance Superpole went to Anderson for a second night in a row after another impressive night of pace across the lap.

The FMX Best Trick competition was once again a spectacle for fans inside the arena and watching at home, with Josh Sheehan and his double backflip prevailing once more. Sheehan was challenged to gold by Pat Bowden whose frontflip no-hander rivalled, but fell just short, of the score needed for the gold medal, as he settled with silver.

The Boost Mobile Best Whip contest once again went to Corey Creed who laid down yet another stylish and super inverted whip to take out the crown for the second night in a row.

KTM’s Junior Supercross Challenge (KJSC), which saw twenty lucky aspiring Supercross stars take to the big track in front of thousands of spectators at the biggest Supercross racing event in Australia, was won by Cooper Downing.

In the SX2 Championship, it was Chris Blose who went one better from his Saturday effort to win Sunday’s feature race. Close led home Jackson Richardson and Jay Wilson after early leader and KNOBBY Holeshot winner Wilson Todd fell on the opening lap after a clash with the American, Blose.

Ronnie Mac vs Ricky Carmichael laid it all on the line and did not disappoint the packed Qudos Bank Arena fans with Carmichael reigning supreme to be crowned the ultimate two-stroke showdown champion, for both Saturday and Sunday nights of the competition.

SX1 TOP-12

1 – Jason Anderson
2 – Dean Wilson
3 – Justin Brayton
4 – Daniel Reardon
5 – Nathan Crawford
6 – Daniel Herrlein
7 – Dylan Long
8 – Robbie Marshall
9 – RJ Hampshire
10 – Kade Mosig
11 – Dean Ferris (Holeshot winner)
12 – Nick Schmidt

SX2 TOP-12

1 – Chris Blose (USA)
2 – Jackson Richardson
3 – Jay Wilson
4 – Taylor Potter
5 – Geran Stapleton
6 – Dylan Wills
7 – Cooper Pozniak
8 – Jesse Madden
9 – Bailey Malkiewicz
10 – Nick Sutherland
11 – Wilson Todd
12 – Morgan Fogarty

FMX Best Trick

1 – Josh Sheehan
2 – Pat Bowden
3 – TIED – Harry Bink & Rob Adelberg

Be the first to comment...

You might also like...


7 hours ago

8-Hour @ Dargo: Gareth’s Getaway

Skip the Bunnings run this Saturday. This bloke will show you why we live for weekends like this…


8 hours ago

The Jerkyls’ Sunday Slide: Image Gallery

Calling all dirt-bike enthusiasts, grease monkeys, senior citizens and hipsters; you have to check this out.


12 hours ago

2017 Australian SX: Titles Decided

Justin Brayton and Jackson Richardson have been crowned 2017 Australian Supercross Champions.


1 day ago

Ever Seen a Rally Bike Do This?

Watch Sam Sunderland rip up the sand dunes of Morocco on the all-new 2018 KTM Dakar machine.


2 days ago

Can Anyone Stop Marvin Musquin?

After winning Monster Cup and Straight Rythm, Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin has won Paris Supercross.


4 days ago

2018 A4DE: Back to Its Birthplace

With entries now open for the 40th A4DE in Cessnock, we look back on the event’s fascinating foundations.

4 days ago

Product: Bell Moto-9 with MIPS

Bell’s new Moto-9 helmet now comes equipped with MIPS, making this proven helmet even safer.


4 days ago

The Brierleys’ Big-League Debut

Have you heard of the Brierley brothers yet? Keep an eye out – these young blokes are set for big things.